Regarding forum lag

Started by Lucien, 2013 Nov 26, 13:48:24

previous topic - next topic

Go Down

Lucien

Can you get rid of some of the inactive threads containing a thousand youtube videos? Can you make it so that youtube embedding no longer works and you just post links now? Because I am very convinced that the sheer amount of youtube videos within these threads causes most of the lag, whereas in a forum like Dream Theater Forums, there is no lag/no youtube embedding support. If I enter any song where the main idea is to post songs, it is EXTREMELY laggy. I think this should be fixed.

Thanks.
Starting anew. I am a musician. My past here means nothing.

Julius

Just because you have issues with a feature it doesn't mean others do too. You seem a bit entitled and rude. Try to ask for a way to solve your issue instead of asking for a whole feature to be removed. >:/
Purr~

Lucien

I didn't really mean to come off as rude, but I'm comparing two forums using the exact same template. One has embed support, the other doesn't. The one that doesn't have support for it I can actually get around on very quickly, whereas this forum that I haven't been on in a while seems to have plenty of lag. Whether or not youtube embedding specifically has anything to do with the lag I get here, but not there is debatable, but that's the only logical explanation I can provide.

As for removing youtube embedding entirely, I don't really see how it would be a problem worthy of complaining. You just click a link instead, which opens a new tab.

McSleuthburger

could you give us some examples (like which threads) are giving you problems or is it just the whole forum
because we switched web hosts a while ago and that caused tons of lag but after it was done there havent been any complaints
Ye-olde ex mod
You've just been McSleuthburgered!

Lucien

The whole forum in general is pretty laggy, and threads like this are a much laggier until all the videos load.

Tekner